PDA

View Full Version : question for you avid mtn bikers

3THREE7
04-20-2010, 10:19 PM
So I'm gonna start getting into mtn biking and looking around at all the different bikes/gear. Noticed all the 29"er bikes out there and read up on all their "pros" and kinda like the idea. Are there any cons to 29" wheels?

I'm just starting out with mtn biking(noob), but can see myself getting really into it eventually.

Also I see some single speed mountain bikes and some people converting theirs to single speed. What are your thoughts/experience on this?

TIA

mike
04-20-2010, 10:27 PM
Single speed Mountain bike? LOL. Thats called a beach cruiser.

What are you planning on doing with it? Trail? Jumping? Racing? Downhill? You need to figure out what you will be doing, that will determine what you need to buy. The options and prices are limitless. You can get a good used year or two old bike for a lot less then new. A hardtail like my Specialized rock hopper, or a complete fully suspended heavy ass downhill bike. Personally I like my disc brakes, they are awesome. as far as wheel size, I'm not sure. The only mountain bike Guru's we have on here is Lordoftheblings and he is usually MIA, or CALL_AAA, Kellygirl may be able to help as well.

gest24
04-20-2010, 11:22 PM
If you're planning on just riding the local trails to gain fitness and just get out there, stay away from a SS. A lot of the trails around here have climbs, they might be small but still give beginners a hard time sometimes. A geared bike will be more enjoyable and easier to use. If you buy the bike from an actual shop they'll come with service support. The Trek Store does lifetime adjustments, Performance also does this.